I first discovered Gill Paul’s writing in 2018. Even though I have only managed to read two of her books thus far, I am a firm fan of her historical novels.

I was drawn to read ‘The Secret Wife’ as I had the previous year had the good fortune to travel to St Petersburg. Therefore the link to the Romanov family was of interest.

Next up was ‘The Second Marriage’, a fictionalised story about Jackie Kennedy, Ari Onassis and Maria Callas which I loved too.

Therefore when the opportunity arose to review this latest book, I grabbed it.

Title: The Manhattan Girls

Author: Gill Paul

Publication Date: 18th August 2022

Publisher: Avon Books UK

Description:

NEW YORK CITY, 1921

An impossible dream.
The war is over, the twenties are roaring, but in the depths of the city that never sleeps, Dorothy Parker is struggling to make her mark in a man’s world.


A broken woman.
She’s penniless, she’s unemployed and her marriage is on the rocks when she starts a bridge group with three extraordinary women – but will they be able to save her from herself?


A fight for survival.
When tragedy strikes, and everything Dorothy holds dear is threatened, it’s up to Peggy, Winifred and Jane to help her confront the truth before it’s too late. Because the stakes may be life or death…

A new novel from the internationally bestselling author, Sex and the City meets the 1920s in this sweeping tale of love, loss and the everlasting bonds of friendship. Perfect for fans of Fiona Davis, Dinah Jefferies and Chanel Cleeton.

My Thoughts:

A 1920s Sex and the City featuring Dorothy Parker and her three friends:

  • Jane Grant, first female reporter for The New York Times, who is determined to launch a new magazine.
  • Winifred Lenihan, Broadway actress; beautiful, talented, and a casting-couch target.
  • Peggy Leech, magazine assistant by day, brilliant novelist by night.

It is hard to know where to start. In a way I wanted to read it quickly because I was enjoying the story so much. But instead I didn’t. I savoured the book and learning about the various women and the adventures that they had.

All four of them go through difficult times, but Paul brings the period and these most interesting women to life. I loved it.

If you are interested in this period, I would urge you to read it.

You can read more about the book on Gill Paul’s website.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.